About Us

First New Mexico Bank’s roots in the community run deep. Chartered in Grant County in 1983 as First State Bank, the charter was bought by First New Mexico Financial Corporation in 1990, and First New Mexico Bank of Silver City was born. The bank has retained its local charter to this day instead of becoming a branch of another bank, keeping with its philosophy of true community banking.

Founding directors Sam Weston – the bank’s first president – Dr. J. Hal Hopson, Murray Ryan, Charles Hamilton, Bob Kasten, and President Sean Ormand all have lifelong ties to the community, which make them uniquely qualified to serve the local area, along with current directors Frank Quarrell, Scott Kennedy, Brett Kasten, and Richard Griffin.